Tags

, , ,

It is very easy to take a look around at all that we have and pat ourselves on the back with a sense of pride. I know I’m guilty of this and I have to repent for my prideful thoughts and during these times the Holy Spirit reminds me that everything I have is God’s. No doubt about it, it’s His.

The amazing and wonderful thing about this is that God allows us to use and borrow things that are His and only asks that we give a small portion back to him.

Malachi 3: 8-9 (KJV). Will a man rob God? Yet ye have robbed me. But ye say, Wherein have we robbed thee? In tithes and offerings. Ye are cursed with a curse: for ye have robbed me, even this whole nation.

Malachi 3: 10 (KJV). Bring ye all the tithes into the storehouse, that there may be meat in mine house, and prove me now herewith, saith the Lord of hosts, if I will not open you the windows of heaven, and pour you out a blessing, that there shall not be room enough to receive it.

Proverbs 3:9 (KJV). Honour the Lord with thy substance, and with the firstfruits of all thine increase:

There is a debate about how much to tithe. The Bible states 10%. But as the debate states, does this 10% mean 10% of everything owned? 10% of income? Post tax? Pre tax? It all seems confusing, but God is not the author of confusion and his Word is not confusing. God calls us to give what is in our heart joyfully.

2 Corinthians 9:7 (KJV). Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.

Deuteronomy 15:10 (KJV). Thou shalt surely give him, and thine heart shall not be grieved when thou givest unto him: because that for this thing the Lord thy God shall bless thee in all thy works, and in all that thou puttest thine hand unto.

http://www.jraservices.us
http://www.stompoutanger.com

